July 20, 2024

Backet Hat

Just another WordPress site

The Ultimate Guide to Six Sigma Certification

Lean Six Sigma certification

Lean Six Sigma certification

If you are wondering about getting started with ASQ certification online and understanding the basics of Six Sigma, this guide is for you. We will cover everything from the history and origins of Six Sigma to what certification options are available and how to get started on your journey toward achieving this credential.

What is Six Sigma Certification?

Six Sigma is a set of tools and approaches designed to improve process performance by reducing outcome variation. The term “Six Sigma” refers to a statistical measure that strives for near-perfection: only 3.4 out of 1 million opportunities or defects are allowed under the Six Sigma methodology. It was developed by Motorola in 1986 as a way to standardize processes and reduce errors across their organization; since then, it has become an industry-standard quality-control tool.

Six Sigma certifications are offered through various organizations, including the American Society for Quality (ASQ), a non-profit organization dedicated to advancing quality in all aspects of life. ASQ Certification Online several levels demonstrating your proficiency and mastery of Six Sigma tools and processes.

Different types and levels of Six Sigma Certification?

The Six Sigma certification process is divided into three distinct levels: 

White Belt

White Belts are those who have a basic understanding of Six Sigma methodology and its principles but no experience in developing or executing projects. They can use these skills to identify areas for improvement in their organization, collaborate with other employees on lean efforts and be part of the overall effort to improve efficiencies. 

Yellow Belt 

Yellow Belts understand the fundamentals of Lean Six Sigma and its roles within an organization. They recognize processes that can benefit from Lean Six Sigma implementation and analyze associated data. They also assist in finding solutions to identified problems. 

Six Sigma Green Belt Certification

Green Belts are highly knowledgeable in data collection and analysis, process designs and project management. They can lead projects to completion and manage individuals within their team. 

Black Belt 

Black Belts are experts in Six Sigma methodology who can lead complex projects from start to finish. They coach teams, develop improvement strategies and use statistical tools to analyze data. 

Master Black Belt

Master Black Belts have the highest level of expertise in Six Sigma principles and processes. Their focus is on executive-level strategizing, mentoring other belts in their organization, developing corporate-wide improvement plans, overseeing multiple projects simultaneously, and analyzing results for continuous improvement initiatives. With a Master Black Belt certification, individuals gain the skills to become successful Lean Six Sigma leaders. 

By obtaining any of these certifications (or a combination of them), individuals can ensure that their organization achieves the maximum benefit from a Six Sigma implementation. At each level, individuals gain a greater understanding and knowledge base of Lean Six Sigma certification and processes. 

Earning any type or level of certification requires dedication and commitment to excellence, as well as an enthusiasm for improving organizational efficiency. With the right framework in place, organizations can enjoy increased cost savings, improved customer satisfaction and enhanced overall performance.

Who can apply for Six Sigma Certification?

The credential is open to all individuals, regardless of their professional background. Anyone can apply for certification if you are:

  • An experienced business leader.
  • A seasoned manager.
  • A newly hired employee looking to start his career with Six Sigma training.

With the wide range of courses offered, from entry-level to practitioner-level certifications, there is something for everyone. Most organizations accept any certification from Six Sigma as proof of knowledge and proficiency in the principles and practices of Six Sigma. So regardless of your experience level or job title, you can find a course that fits your needs and gives you the credentials to become certified in Six Sigma.

Getting Started with ASQ certification online:

ASQ offers five levels of certifications based on experience and proficiency; these include: 

  • Certified Six Sigma Green Belt (CSSGB)
  • Black Belt (CSSBB), Master Black Belt (CSSMBB)
  • Lean Expert (CLSSLE) and Executive Leadership (CLSSE). 

Depending on your career goals and current job responsibilities, one or more options may be right for you.

Note: The next step is to take the appropriate exam. All ASQ Six Sigma exams are online, and you must pass with a score of at least 70% in order to earn your certification. 


Achieving an ASQ certification online is an excellent way to demonstrate your knowledge and expertise in process improvement and quality management. It provides employers with proof that you possess the skills needed to help organizations grow and improve their operations, as well as sets you apart from other professionals competing for similar positions. With this guide we have provided the basics on what it takes to get started on your Lean Sigma Six certification journey.